PDA

View Full Version : Another nice thing about making the playoffs this year...

asindc
10-07-2008, 04:16 PM
One of the things I like about the current management is that they seem to make a commitment to compete every year. I have been rooting for the Sox since the 1960s, and not since those great Sox teams that always came up just short of the damn Yanks have I felt like the Sox were poised to be perennial contenders. Just check out this historical trend since 1919:

1919- AL Pennant winners

1959- AL Pennant winners: 40-year gap between playoff appearances

1983- AL West champions: 24-year gap

1993- AL West champions: 10-year gap

2000- AL Central champions: 7-year gap

2005- World Series champions: 5-year gap

2008- AL Central champions: 3-year gap.

I remember wondering through the 80s and 90s why can't the Sox be contenders more years than not, if not every year. That's also why 1994 was such a bitter disapointment for me, since I thought that team was better than the 1993 team and thus had a better chance to go to the World Series.

Does this guarantee that the trend will continue? Of course not. But it does reflect, IMO, a change in attitude in team management. I had questioned Reinsdorf's commitment to winning before this decade, but I credit him, KW, Ozzie, and others for developing a more winning culture with this franchise in recent years. Here's to the continued commitment...:gulp::gulp:

ChiSoxFan81
10-07-2008, 04:25 PM
One of the things I like about the current management is that they seem to make a commitment to compete every year. I have been rooting for the Sox since the 1960s, and not since those great Sox teams that always came up just short of the damn Yanks have I felt like the Sox were poised to be perennial contenders. Just check out this historical trend since 1919:

1919- AL Pennant winners

1959- AL Pennant winners: 40-year gap between playoff appearances

1983- AL West champions: 24-year gap

1993- AL West champions: 10-year gap