PDA

View Full Version : Jeff Cox

BigP50
08-24-2008, 11:49 PM
I was at the game today and when he sent BA at first I was like :o: but then I was like :bandance:. I was a couple rows up from the behind home plate towards the first base side and I had the perfect view. I couldn't believe that he sent him. BA hadn't even touched 3rd when Zobrist had the ball!

CHISOXFAN13
08-25-2008, 12:08 AM
I was at the game today and when he sent BA at first I was like :o: but then I was like :bandance:. I was a couple rows up from the behind home plate towards the first base side and I had the perfect view. I couldn't believe that he sent him. BA hadn't even touched 3rd when Zobrist had the ball!

I don't know why people are stunned by this. There were two outs, and you force a guy like Zobrist, who is a shortstop by trade, to make a great throw with a pretty quick runner coming home.

No-brainer to me.

Hitmen77
08-25-2008, 12:08 AM
Cox gambled on a bad throw/bad catch and he won. His other alternative was to hold BA and take a chance on OC getting a 2-out hit. In that case, if OC makes an out, game over. I don't know what his avg. is with RISP, but even with a decent avg, the odds of another hit were heavily against us.

Gutsy move by Cox and it paid off.

EuroSox35
08-25-2008, 12:11 AM
IIRC the ball got fumbled (and then deflected) by the catcher, otherwise it would've been an easy out. To be honest I'm not a big Cox fan

Domeshot17
08-25-2008, 01:16 AM
I liked the call. My thinking when he sent him was Brian, being a very strong individual, was either going to be safe on a bad throw or he was going to run over the back up catcher and make him hold onto it. Cox knew Zobrist does not have a great arm and put the pressure on them instead of holding him up and putting the pressure back on us to get ANOTHER 2 out hit.

Nellie_Fox
08-25-2008, 01:21 AM
That was one of those where I was yelling "no, no, no, no...yes!"

doublem23
08-25-2008, 01:25 AM