View Full Version : MVP and ROY in same year

08-21-2008, 12:27 PM
I'm at work and incredibly bored so I decided to do a a little research to figure out what teams across history have had the MVP and ROY on the same team in the same year.

If it works out nicely we can add Alexei Ramirez and TCQ to the list for 08


2001 Ichiro - Seattle
1988 Walt Weiss (ROY) Jose Canseco (MVP) - Oakland
1975 Fred Lynn - Boston
1974 Mike Hargrove (ROY) Jeff Burroughs (MVP) - Texas
1962 Tom Tresh (ROY) Mickey Mantle (MVP) - NY
1957 Tony Kubek (ROY) Mickey Mantle (MVP) - NY
1954 Bob Grim (ROY) Yogi Berra (MVP) - NY
1952 Harry Byrd (ROY) Bobby Shantz (MVP) - Philadelphia
1951 Gil McDougal (ROY) Yogi Berra (MVP) - NY

1998 Kerry Wood (ROY) Sammy Sosa (MVP) - CHC
1985 Vince Coleman (ROY) Willie McGee (MVP) - St. Louis
1976 Pat Zachry (ROY) Joe Morgan (MVP) - Cincy
1953 Jim Gilliam (ROY) Roy Campanella (MVP) - Brooklyn
1949 Don Newcombe (ROY) Jackie Robinson (MVP) - Brooklyn

14 times total in MLB history.