PDA

View Full Version : Graffanino May Play All 9.


doctor30th
05-10-2002, 12:13 PM
I guess it's been suggested to Graffy that he try and play all 9 positions in one game sometime this season, if there is an opportunity.


Having started games at second base, third base and shortstop in the last five days, utilityman Tony Graffanino might consider trying to play nine different positions in one game. "I don't want to catch unless I have to," Graffanino joked. "I don't know, I haven't really thought about it. I've heard it said by the guys around (here) but I don't know how important that is. I guess if somebody suggested it and said they wanted to do it that'd be fine."


http://mlb.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/mlb/news/mlb_mlbeat_story.jsp?team=cws

NUCatsFan
05-10-2002, 12:18 PM
Originally posted by doctor30th
I guess it's been suggested to Graffy that he try and play all 9 positions in one game sometime this season, if there is an opportunity.

I don't like it, but that's just me. It's just a publicity stunt. And we really don't need it. If it does happen, count on it being a home game, and word will be out beforehand. Try to get more people in the stands.

moochpuppy
05-10-2002, 12:23 PM
Originally posted by NUCatsFan


I don't like it, but that's just me. It's just a publicity stunt. And we really don't need it. If it does happen, count on it being a home game, and word will be out beforehand. Try to get more people in the stands.

Wasn't there a Cardinal player that did this? I can't think of his name offhand.

Now if he does do this, to play all positions wouldn't he also have to DH as well?

pearso66
05-10-2002, 12:23 PM
i agree, i dont really like the idea, because we'd probably lose that game, but if he does do it, it would be pretty cool to see

MattSharp
05-10-2002, 02:29 PM
Well I was prompted to see if I could figure out how they would do it, so here we go......

1st Inning:
Graff starts at SS, with everyone else at normal positions.

2nd Inning:
Graff moves to LF with CLee going to the bench and Clayton coming in at SS.

3rd Inning:
Graff moves to CF, Jeff Liefer moves in LF.

4th Inning:
Graff moves to 1B, Konerko comes out, and Rowand goes into CF.

5th Inning:
Graff moves to Pitcher, with Frank coming in at 1B

6th Inning:
Graff goes to catch

7th Inning:
Graff goes to RF with MJ behind the plate.

8th Inning:
Graff goes to 3B with Jose playing RF

9th Inning:
Graff goes to 2B with Durham moving to third

The only bad part is Durham has to play third one inning. This is the only way I could think of without someone playing the same position twice in teh same game....

MattSharp
05-10-2002, 02:30 PM
Originally posted by moochpuppy
Now if he does do this, to play all positions wouldn't he also have to DH as well?

The only play he could play the DH position is if he were to PH for him. If the DH is moved into the field then you void the DH position and the pitcher must bat. I don't believe you can move players from the field to the DH either.....

mack10zie
05-10-2002, 02:33 PM
Shane Halter did it for the Tigers two years ago (I think, could have been last year maybe). I watched the game, it was kinda strange but also pretty interesting to see.

mack10zie
05-10-2002, 02:36 PM
Originally posted by MattSharp
Well I was prompted to see if I could figure out how they would do it, so here we go......

1st Inning:
Graff starts at SS, with everyone else at normal positions.

2nd Inning:
Graff moves to LF with CLee going to the bench and Clayton coming in at SS.

3rd Inning:
Graff moves to CF, Jeff Liefer moves in LF.

4th Inning:
Graff moves to 1B, Konerko comes out, and Rowand goes into CF.

5th Inning:
Graff moves to Pitcher, with Frank coming in at 1B

6th Inning:
Graff goes to catch

7th Inning:
Graff goes to RF with MJ behind the plate.

8th Inning:
Graff goes to 3B with Jose playing RF

9th Inning:
Graff goes to 2B with Durham moving to third

The only bad part is Durham has to play third one inning. This is the only way I could think of without someone playing the same position twice in teh same game....

Maybe I'm wrong here, but I don't think we would need to replace the player who's position he took every single time he were to play a new position. For example when he played LF we could have Lofton in CF and Maggs in RF, then when if played CF we could just move Lofton to RF, then when he played RF we could put Lofton back at CF and Maggs into RF. So as long as the player who's position he was taking could play a different position for one inning we shouldn't need so many substitutions.

FarmerAndy
05-10-2002, 02:44 PM
Originally posted by mack10zie


Maybe I'm wrong here, but I don't think we would need to replace the player who's position he took every single time he were to play a new position. For example when he played LF we could have Lofton in CF and Maggs in RF, then when if played CF we could just move Lofton to RF, then when he played RF we could put Lofton back at CF and Maggs into RF. So as long as the player who's position he was taking could play a different position for one inning we shouldn't need so many substitutions.

I think you're right. I'm pretty sure that you can move players around field positions all you want, you just can't move the batting order.

I have a related question. Is the DH rule in the American League actually a rule? I mean, are you required to have a DH. Not that you'd ever want to, but could the pitcher bat in the AL ?

mack10zie
05-10-2002, 02:51 PM
Originally posted by FarmerAndy


I think you're right. I'm pretty sure that you can move players around field positions all you want, you just can't move the batting order.

I have a related question. Is the DH rule in the American League actually a rule? I mean, are you required to have a DH. Not that you'd ever want to, but could the pitcher bat in the AL ?

I don't think you have to DH for anybody if you don't want to. I know in high school there is a DH rule, but most of the times the pitchers are just as good at hitting than the position players, so it is only used rarely. I actually DHed for our right fielder most of my senior year since I couldn't throw due to shoulder surgery. On that note, even if there is a DH rule, I know that you could let the pitcher bat by DHing for someone else in the lineup.

FarmerAndy
05-10-2002, 03:05 PM
Originally posted by mack10zie


, I know that you could let the pitcher bat by DHing for someone else in the lineup.

So for the months of April and May we could still have Royce's glove at shortstop while letting the pitcher bat in the ninth spot?

FarmerAndy
05-10-2002, 03:06 PM
:hurt
Can you DH for the DH?

MisterB
05-10-2002, 03:15 PM
From MLB.com (http://mlb.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/mlb/baseball_basics/mlb_basics_batter.jsp)

6.10
Any League may elect to use the Designated Hitter Rule. (a) In the event of inter league competition between clubs of Leagues using the Designated Hitter Rule and clubs of Leagues not using the Designated Hitter Rule, the rule will be used as follows: 1. In World Series or exhibition games, the rule will be used or not used as is the practice of the home team. 2. In All Star games, the rule will only be used if both teams and both Leagues so agree. (b) The Rule provides as follows: A hitter may be designated to bat for the starting pitcher and all subsequent pitchers in any game without otherwise affecting the status of the pitcher(s) in the game. A Designated Hitter for the pitcher must be selected prior to the game and must be included in the lineup cards presented to the Umpire in Chief. The designated hitter named in the starting lineup must come to bat at least one time, unless the opposing club changes pitchers. It is not mandatory that a club designate a hitter for the pitcher, but failure to do so prior to the game precludes the use of a Designated Hitter for that game. Pinch hitters for a Designated Hitter may be used. Any substitute hitter for a Designated Hitter becomes the Designated Hitter. A replaced Designated Hitter shall not re enter the game in any capacity. The Designated Hitter may be used defensively, continuing to bat in the same position in the batting order, but the pitcher must then bat in the place of the substituted defensive player, unless more than one substitution is made, and the manager then must designate their spots in the batting order. A runner may be substituted for the Designated Hitter and the runner assumes the role of Designated Hitter. A Designated Hitter may not pinch run. A Designated Hitter is "locked" into the batting order. No multiple substitutions may be made that will alter the batting rotation of the Designated Hitter. Once the game pitcher is switched from the mound to a defensive position this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. Once a pinch hitter bats for any player in the batting order and then enters the game to pitch, this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. Once the game pitcher bats for the Designated Hitter this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. (The game pitcher may only pinch hit for the Designated Hitter). Once a Designated Hitter assumes a defensive position this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. A substitute for the Designated Hitter need not be announced until it is the Designated Hitter's turn to bat.

In short, it doesn't have to be used by an AL team, and the DH only bats for the pitcher(s) when used.

MarqSox
05-10-2002, 03:18 PM
Originally posted by FarmerAndy


I think you're right. I'm pretty sure that you can move players around field positions all you want, you just can't move the batting order.

I have a related question. Is the DH rule in the American League actually a rule? I mean, are you required to have a DH. Not that you'd ever want to, but could the pitcher bat in the AL ?

You don't have to use the DH, nor does the DH have to bat for the pitcher.

MarqSox
05-10-2002, 03:19 PM
Originally posted by MarqSox


You don't have to use the DH, nor does the DH have to bat for the pitcher.

Never mind, Mister B has me corrected.

mack10zie
05-10-2002, 03:37 PM
Originally posted by MisterB
In short, it doesn't have to be used by an AL team, and the DH only bats for the pitcher(s) when used.

I didn't catch anything where it said that the pitcher is the only one who can be DHed for, it just seemed to assume that it would be the pitcher. I know the high school rule allows for the DH of a positional player, but I also know that there are rule differences between MLB and high school.

mack10zie
05-10-2002, 03:42 PM
In rereading the rule is does seem very unlikely that you could DH for a non-pitcher.

Cheryl
05-10-2002, 03:44 PM
Didn't Steve Lyons play all nine positions in a game once?

MattSharp
05-10-2002, 03:55 PM
Originally posted by FarmerAndy


I think you're right. I'm pretty sure that you can move players around field positions all you want, you just can't move the batting order.

Yea I knew this, I was just trying to avoid doing it if I could....

MisterB
05-10-2002, 03:56 PM
Originally posted by mack10zie
I didn't catch anything where it said that the pitcher is the only one who can be DHed for, it just seemed to assume that it would be the pitcher.
Originally posted by MisterB
The Rule provides as follows: A hitter may be designated to bat for the starting pitcher and all subsequent pitchers in any game without otherwise affecting the status of the pitcher(s) in the game.

Yeah, the whole thing is a little confusing on the first read, but it doesn't actually mention the DH being usable for any other position but the pitcher.

Randar68
05-10-2002, 04:02 PM
Originally posted by Cheryl
Didn't Steve Lyons play all nine positions in a game once?

In a Windy City Classic game only....and he actually kept his pants on that day!

doctor30th
05-10-2002, 04:07 PM
Didn't Steve Lyons play all nine positions in a game once?

yes, but it was in the cross town classic so it wasn't an official game.

On another note, Scott Sheldon did it for the rangers against the Sox at comiskey park in 2000. Remember, he struck out Jeff Liefer.

One other note, you don't have to DH for a pitcher, there was a team early on that had the dh for their second baseman because one of thier pitchers hit so well, they would dh for the 2b instead when that pitcher was pitching.