PDA

View Full Version : Impressions of U.S. Cellular Field -- 15 years later

mccoydp
05-27-2008, 07:17 PM
My wife and I returned from our weekend trip to Chicago yesterday; we went from 24-26 May. I attended both games this weekend vs. the Halos, and I can't say enough good things about the ballpark, the fans, and my experience in the city. I sat in section 155 on Saturday, and my wife and I sat in section 138 on Sunday.
I haven't been to a White Sox game in Chicago since Spring 1993, when I was a Freshman at Illinois Tech. Simply put, the park looks fantastic. I wasn't prepared for how great it looked. It took my breath away when I entered the main concourse. Everything was clean and professional. The concessions were top-notch, and cheaper than the fare served here at the K.C. Royals games. I was able to pick up an authentic grey Konerko jersey at the Grandstand before the game; they have so much more than they did 15 years ago.
The atmosphere during Sunday's game before, during, and after was simply electric. I can only imagine what it must have been like during the 2005 season & during the World Series! The salute to the Veterans before the game was a great highlight for the Memorial Day weekend.
I'm proud to be a White Sox fan, and I sincerely hope that I'll be able to visit your fine ballpark, and your city, again in the future!

GlassSox
05-27-2008, 08:32 PM
Glad you had a good time and come back more often. We were there Sunday too and we also appreciated the salute to the Vets.

October26
05-27-2008, 08:56 PM