PDA

View Full Version : "Dumb" baseball questions

Frater Perdurabo
05-24-2008, 07:16 AM
I'm a teacher, and I tell students that there are no dumb questions.

But some of you baseball lifers probably think this is a dumb question, and have a simple answer to it. You'll have to forgive me, because there are things about baseball I just don't know because I only played organized Little League ball for two years at ages 9 and 10, played RF/LF exclusively (except for that disastrous one inning at second base), and have one career extra-base hit, and it should have been ruled an error!
:redface:

I understand that when a runner is on base, a pitcher often will pitch out of the stretch to reduce the amount of time he takes to get rid of the ball.

However, some pitchers, like Gavin Floyd last night, lose a lot of their control out of the stretch.

So here's my question: If you are dominant out of the windup, but lack control out of the stretch, why not simply deal with the increased risk of a stolen base and continue to throw out of the windup when runners are on base?

Thanks for your answers!

If anyone else has a "dumb question about baseball," post it here. Chances are I don't know the answer, either, but someone else should.

ondafarm
05-24-2008, 08:26 AM
Once you enter your windup, if you break off to throw over, or anything else, then it is a balk. Most runners could steal bases virtually at will against a pitcher using their windup. Even guys like PK would probably be able to stretch a single into a triple on two pitches.

TornLabrum
05-24-2008, 08:27 AM
I think your question is answered in the last part of this answer. http://www.thebaseballpage.com/forum/threads.php?id=294_0_2_200_C

Frater Perdurabo
05-24-2008, 12:02 PM
Well, if it goes back to the balk rule, which is such an arbitrary judgment call and too greatly empowers the umpires, then IMHO it's a dumb rule.

Thank you for your answers, though.

sullythered
05-24-2008, 12:29 PM